Home > Training



The Division of Haematology participates in the teaching of undergraduate and postgraduate students at the UCT Health Sciences Faculty. Registrars and consultants participate in undergraduate teaching and training by facilitating and delivering class lectures and practical lectures focusing on blood disorders, in various modules of the UCT MBChB program.
The division has 6 HPCSA accredited registrar posts for medical doctors to pursue specialist training in Haematopathology. Clinical Haematology registrars also spend at least 12 months training in the laboratory within the UCT Department of Pathology, as part of their certification. In addition, Clinical Pathology trainees rotate through the division for 16 months of their training. Regular experiential teaching and microscope tutorials are offered to registrars in Haematopathology and others rotating through the laboratory. Regular journal clubs, seminars and group teaching are held in the division for haematopathology, clinical haematology and general medical registrars. Interdepartmental haematology pathology meetings are held quarterly with academic staff from Tygerberg Hospital and the Red Cross War Memorial Children's Hospital. Attendance, presentation and participation in local and international congresses is expected and actively encouraged.


Medical doctors may specialize as registrars in the department via the completion of a fellowship obtained from the College of Medicine of SA and a MMed (UCT) degree which includes a compulsory research mini-dissertation required for specialist registration.

Registrar rotations

Haematology Pathology Registrars are based at NHLS Groote Schuur Hospital. They gain experience in Clinical Haematology by working in the GSH Clinical Haematology division for 2 months, Western Cape Blood Transfusion Service for 3 months, and Red Cross Children’s Hospital for a minimum of 3 months during their training.  A number of other registrar rotations are accommodated including Clinical Pathology and Clinical Haematology. Each of these rotations is completed over a different time period but training is offered in all aspects of haematology which includes morphology, bone marrow analysis, coagulation, flow cytometry, haemoglobinopathy testing and molecular analysis. All registrars rotate through both Groote Schuur Hospital and Red Cross Hospital and thus have exposure to both adult and paediatric haematology. They are also required to spend varying time periods at the Western Province Blood Transfusion Services.
Masters in Medicine (MMed)
Pathology (Haematological)
[MM001PTY10] [SAQA ID:214190]
Convener: Assoc Prof J Opie (Department of Pathology)
Structure and duration of training:
The NHLS funds registrar contracts for a minimum of four years. The program covers training in all aspects of haematological pathology including paediatric haematology, molecular haematology, haemostasis and thrombosis, blood transfusion, flow cytometry, and diagnosis of haematological malignancies. The national CMSA examinations are written in Haematology Pathology. Registrars must be registered as postgraduate students with UCT. The completion and passing of a minor dissertation is required prior to registration as a specialist in Haematology Pathology with the HPCSA.
Curriculum outline: The curriculum outline is as follows:
Code Course                                                                                 NQF Credits  HEQSF Level
PTY7024W   MMed Haematological Pathology Part 1..............  60    9
PTY7021W   MMed Haematological Pathology Part 2............... 60    9
PTY7022W   Haematological Pathology Minor Dissertation...... 60    9
Total NQF credits ......................................................................180
A/Prof Jessica Opie teaching registrars Dr Justin du Toit, Dr Siphiwe Baloyi and Dr Sumaiya Cassim on the multi headed microscope in C17 NHLS laboratory, Groote Schuur Hospital. March 2018


The research laboratory is located on the Faculty of Health Sciences (Medical School) campus and is well equipped to support undergraduate and postgraduate pathology and science students.
Dr Shaheen Mowla (UCT) and Dr Karen Shires (UCT/NHLS) have continued to expand the molecular and cellular research in haematological malignancies, haematopoiesis, the detection of minimal residual disease in patients with leukaemia, cellular therapies and haematopoietic stem cell transplantation. There is a solid collaboration with the clinical service that has resulted in combined projects in the field of myeloproliferative and lymphoproliferative disorders (with a focus on the role of HIV) and acute leukaemias.
Specialisation: Haematology
Qualification Code: MD001
Academic Plan Code: PTY11
NQF credits: 360 at HEQSF level 10
Course outline: This is a degree by doctoral thesis of up to 80,000 words in length.
Assessment: The thesis is examined by three examiners external to the university.
Rules for this degree are published in Handbook No 3 of the series.
MSc (Medicine) by dissertation
[MM095][SAQA ID: 3409]
Specialisation: Haematology
Qualification Code: MM095
Academic Plan Code: PTY11
The Master’s program consists of a laboratory project, culminating in the submission of a dissertation.   The average length of this degree is 2 years.
BSc(Med)(Hons) - within the Department of Integrative Biomedical Sciences
Discipline: Medical Biochemistry
A student shall during one academic year of full-time study attend and by examination complete an
honours programme in the discipline.
For further information on the above Degrees, refer to the Faculty of Health Sciences Handbook.
Please contact Dr Shaheen Mowla and Dr Karen Shires with regards to potential projects that are on offer.
UCT Postgraduate Students (April 2019)
From left to right: Beatrice Ramorola, Lungile Mapekula, Leonardo Alves De Souza Rios, Aaliya Saferdien and Marian stone.
Back from LHS – Helen Vermeulen, Rushil Harryparsad, Leonardo Alves De Souza Rios, Lungile, Mapekula, Dr Kamogelo Lebeko
Middle from LHS – Cylene Seaton, Jean Aprill, Adri Rust, Beatrice Ramoralo, Dr Ruth Gopie, Rygana Mohamed
Front from LHS – Dr Shaheen Mowla, A/Prof Jessica Opie (Head of Haematlogy); A/Prof Karen Shires